A: Before applying for a permit to carry, Minnesota requires you take a class on the fundamentals of pistol use, law, liability and responsibility of carrying a gun, along with a shooting assessment. This class surpasses the state’s requirements.
A: No. Our class gives you a certificate proving you have taken the state required course. You then need to take our certificate to the sheriff and apply for your permit there.
A: The class is $100.00. This includes the class, lunch, coffee & pop, range fees, posters & more.. After taking our course the state also charges a fee to apply for your permit, which is not to exceed $100.00.
A: Class is held at the Willmar City Auditorium, 311 6th street SW, Willmar MN 56201, Downstairs at the indoor Shooting Range. The class is approximately 6 hours and includes Power Point lecture, discussion, videos, demonstrations and the shooting assessment?
A: The state does NOT require a certain ‘score’ on shooting to pass. The shooting assessment to for you to demonstrate that you can: 1) Handle the firearm safely; 2) Hit the target from varying distances.
A: No. The quizzes you take are to see if you absorbed the information presented. If you get any wrong, we simply review the questions to help you understand. Our goal is that you fully understand the responsibility.
A: YES. Point a gun at me or any other student and you’ll risk your certificate with no refund. Safety will ALWAYS be first at our classes. Purposely violate a safely rule is the only way to fail.
* Never point your gun at anyone; even if it’s unloaded!
* Since no ammunition is allowed in the classroom, turn in your ammo when you arrive. We’ll put your name on it and keep it locked up until the shooting assessment.
* The rest of the safety rules will be explained at the beginning of the class.
A: The Permit to Carry course is a 1 day, 6 hour class.
A: Your pistol and 1 box / 50 rounds of ammo. Your pistol can be in .22, .38, .380, 9mm, 40 S&W or 45ACP. Larger calibers are not allowed at the indoor shooting range. A holster and 2 magazines if you have them. A baseball style cap, eye & ear protection if you have it.
A: The Range fee is included in the class fee.
A: While anyone can take the course, you must be 21 to apply for Minnesota's permit to carry.
A: Yes. We have several pistols available for rent. Rental is $20.00 and ammo is priced at cost per caliber.
A: When you are ready to purchase a firearm, we recommend that you purchase a firearm that: fits your hand.
* As strange as it may sounds, may people agree that the most important factor is a gun the ‘feels right’ when you grip it. Liking and being comfortable with your gun will improve your safety, accuracy and consistency.
* The caliber should be one of the common calibers such as: .38, .380, 9 mm, .40 SW, .45 ACP, or .357
* Often, it should be of the largest caliber that you can accurately control and shoot.
* One that is sufficiently compact to adequately conceal for carry and self defense purposes.
* Comfort: One that you can feel comfortable carrying for extended periods of time (i.e. weight of the firearm may be a consideration).
* Other factors may enter into your selection such as the manufacturer's reputation for quality and service, and the safety features found on the firearm.
* Price may also be a consideration but it should not be your primary concern when selecting a firearm to protect yourself and loved ones.
A: Yes you can. We love new shooters. In fact, it's easier for us to teach how to do it right from the beginning than to fix bad habits!
A: Yes. We need to know the class size to properly arrange for enough instructors, books and supplies. As such, please register here or give us a call at 320-212-7460.
A: Minnesota residents submit it to the Sheriff in the county where the applicant resides. Non-residents apply to any Minnesota Sheriff.
* Has training in the safe use of a pistol. (That’s our class. :-) )
* Is at least 21 years old and a citizen or a permanent resident of the United States.
* Completes an application for a permit.
* Is not prohibited from possessing a firearm.
* Is not listed in the criminal gang investigative data system under section 299C.091
A: The local Sheriff must issue the permit or written denial within 30 days of the application date.
A: 5 years from the date of issuance.
A: State law says that you must do the whole thing over again. You'll need to take the class again and apply with the sheriff again no sooner than 90 days prior to expiration of the current permit.
A: Applications will be available at the county sheriff’s office and on the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension’s website at BCA MN Permit to Carry Application We have applications available as well.
A: The Minnesota permit is currently valid in 27 states as of 05/03/2016. Our training is also vailid in Florida which adds an additional 6 states including Texas. You can see other reciprocity info at www.handgunlaws.us.
A: There are several reason that could prevent a person from getting a permit such as: Murder, Manslaughter, Suicide, Assault, Gang related Crimes, robbery, Kidnapping Sexual misconduct, and other violent crime or drug related activities.
A: Federal buildings such as the post office. School property. Public colleges and universities may have policy restricting the carrying of weapons on their premises by employees and students while on campus. Private establishments - if posted that this establishment bans guns on premises or personally informed of the posting AND ordered to leave. Places of employment, public or private, IF the employer restricts the carry or possession of firearms by its employees.
A: Yes, the permit holder must have the permit card and a driver’s license, state identification card, or other government-issued photo identification in immediate possession at all times when carrying a pistol and must display the permit card and identification document upon lawful demand by a peace officer.
A: Emergency permits may be issued by the sheriff if he/she determines that the person is in an emergency situation that may constitute an immediate risk to the safety of the person or someone residing in the person's household.
A: Yes and no. We answer this question in detail in our class.
A: No. Landlords may not restrict the lawful carry or possession of firearms by tenants or their guests.
A: Yes, an employer may establish policies that restrict the carry or possession of firearms by its employees while employee is working.
A: Yes, when you apply you will need to provide the sheriff with your I-551 or I-151 card, whichever one you have been issued.